Raytown current weather conditions

Click for Forecast

Weather Forecast

The location could not be found.

Clark’s Appliances donated to REAP

Click on +1 button to tell Google you like RaytownOnline

Subscribe to RaytownOnline.com via Email

Enter your email address to receive emails of the latest local news articles on RaytownOnline.com.

Kendra donated to Shepherd’s Center

Ads for Charity

3 Raytown students selected for Missouri Scholars Academy

 Markwaun Lomax, Raytown High School, Reid Marple, Raytown High School, and Ellis Moore, Raytown South High School, have been selected as three of 330 students to attend the 2012 Missouri Scholars Academy, a three-week residential program to be held June 10 – June 30 on the campus of the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Markwaun Lomax

Ellis Moore

Reid Marple

Founded in 1985, the Missouri Scholars Academy (MSA) celebrates its 28th season this year. The goals of the Academy are to help gifted students achieve their full potential and motivate them to use their abilities to attain high standards of achievement, to encourage local schools to improve and expand gifted education programs; and to assist in providing the state with experienced faculty and specialized curriculum for such students.

For over 25 years, MSA was sponsored, in full or in part, by the state. The 2012 Academy is supported in part by funds provided by the University of Missouri, by MSA alumni and friends, by Missouri corporations, and by a Student Activity Fee. The 2012 Academy also benefits from funding provided by the State of Missouri. All aspects of MSA are the responsibility of the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Every public and private high school in the state is allowed to nominate at least one student for the Academy. Academically, students represent the top one-half of one percent of the state’s sophomore class. No grades or credits are awarded through the program.

Students attending MSA will be exposed to a wide range of activities as well as to intensive instruction in their chosen area of specialization. The faculty is composed of outstanding teachers from high schools throughout the state. Guest speakers, performers, discussions, and career education will be combined with extracurricular and social activities to round out the curriculum

Leave a Reply