Raytown current weather conditions

Click for Forecast

Weather Forecast

The location could not be found.

Clark’s Appliances donated to REAP

Click on +1 button to tell Google you like RaytownOnline

Subscribe to RaytownOnline.com via Email

Enter your email address to receive emails of the latest local news articles on RaytownOnline.com.

Kendra donated to Shepherd’s Center

Ads for Charity

Raytown Quality Schools Middle School Challenge students win at KU

From left to right, teacher Susan Miles, Hannah Steele, Zach Kujath, Michael Bartelli, Chris Sadler, Braden Best, Zoe Davis, Gabe Ammerman, Anthony Moore,  Skylar Stewart


Raytown Quality Schools Middle School Challenge students represented the district at the Great Plains Regional of the Future City Competition held at the University of Kansas in Lawrence in January.

The Future City Competition is a national, project-based learning experience where students in 6th, 7th, and 8th grade imagine, design, and build cities of the future. Students work as a team with an educator and engineer mentor to plan cities using SimCity™ 4 Deluxe software; research and write solutions to an engineering problem; build tabletop scale models with recycled materials; and present their ideas before judges.

Several Raytown teams won awards. The Raytown Central Middle School Team Gravinetix made up of students Christopher Sadler, Hannah Steele and Zoë Davis brought home the “Mother Earth Award” recognizing the most innovative concept for improving the environment.

The Raytown Middle School Team Tight-Anium won the “Most Creatively Named City”. Those group members are Ceara Dorsey, Grace Little, Mia Rivera-Watkins, Conlan Miller, Maxine Nwachukwu, Steven Keener, and Nicolas Cruz.

The Raytown Middle School Team Hidden Valley Ranch won the “Camelot Award for Safest City”. Those group members are Jon Marple, Brooke Fielding, Carl Glosenger, Regan Ross, Trey Ludwig and Sean Laney. This team also placed 19th overall.

The Raytown South Middle School team Survivor Town placed 18th overall. Those team members were Isaac Barkley, Marigrace Heinze, Hannah McIntyre, Kaycee Mahone, and Kyra Little.

Overall, Raytown Central Middle School team ZINC, made up Lauren Owens, Macey Snell, Collin Guthrie, Savanna Jackson, Madison Burt, and Mariah Omland. They were represented by Sierra McMurray, Constanza Castro and Israel Hanke finished 13th out of 48 teams.

Leave a Reply