Raytown current weather conditions

Click for Forecast

Weather Forecast

The location could not be found.

Clark’s Appliances donated to REAP

Click on +1 button to tell Google you like RaytownOnline

Subscribe to RaytownOnline.com via Email

Enter your email address to receive emails of the latest local news articles on RaytownOnline.com.

Kendra donated to Shepherd’s Center

Ads for Charity

Raytown School District Teacher of the Year

Jon Flaherty from Southwood Elementary has been chosen the Raytown School District Teacher of the Year. Flaherty is in his 20th year of teaching, and his third year in the Raytown District.

Flaherty was selected by a panel of three judges who noted a “palpable enthusiasm” in Jon’s application and interview. Flaherty teaches 3rd grade and notes that his students make his job an interesting but easy one.

“I look forward to seeing my students and creating new opportunities for us all every day!” Flaherty said.

Southwood Principal Anson Baker says that Flaherty is each student’s loudest cheerleader, life coach, and learning and social conscience.

“He is a positive presence on the Southwood staff,” Baker said.

Flaherty will address the entire district staff at opening Convocation in August, and will speak to civic groups throughout the year. Flaherty was one of seventeen nominated for the honor of District Teacher of the Year.

Other nominees were Stacey Adamson, Raytown South Middle School; Aaron Duff, Raytown High School; Christine Feuerstein, Fleetridge Elementary; Christal Heier, Robinson Elementary; Angela Lea, Raytown South High School; Curtis Mason, Raytown Success Academy; Mick Norris, Herndon Career Center; Dawn Prosser, Raytown Middle School; Courtney Reynolds, Eastwood Hills Elementary; Mindy Rodgers, Laurel Hills Elementary; Erica Smith, Spring Valley Elementary; Julie Strickland, Blue Ridge Elementary; Matt Swigert, Raytown Central Middle School; and Stacey Worllledge, Westridge Elementary.

Leave a Reply